Authorities said that a black foster teen was pepper-sprayed inside the home of his white foster family after officers mistook him for a robber.  DeShawn Currie, 18, had just returned from school when police arrived at his North Carolina residence to a respond to a report of a break-in.  A neighbor saw the teen enter through a side door and called 911.

Currie told the media that the cops ordered him to put his hands on the door, “I was like, For what?  This is my house…Why are y’all in here?”

The cops say that they pepper-sprayed Currie after he became “threatening” and “belligerent”.

Currie said that the officers pointed to the pictures of his white foster family as proof he didn’t belong, “I had moved into my room, and I’m feeling like I’m loved.  And then when they come in and they just profile me and say that I’m not who I am.  And that I do not stay here because there was white kids…That really made me mad.”

Currie’s foster parents, Ricky and Stacy Tyler were upset over the incident, “He’s my…boy just as much as my other three children,” Stacy said, “My 5-year-old last night, she looked at me and said, Mama I don’t understand why they hated our brother…” Currie has lived with the family for about a year.  They just moved into the residence over the summer.

“Everything that we’ve worked so hard for in the past years was stripped away yesterday in just a matter of moments,” Ricky Tyler said.

No charges were filed.  Currie and his foster family met with the Fuquay-Varina PD’s Capt. Bob Adams for a couple of hours earlier this week.  The department released a statement explaining that the officers responded knowing that there was recent criminal activity plaguing the community.

Join the Discussion

