Amanda Knox has reportedly told an Italian newspaper that if she is convicted in her third trial, she would rather become a fugitive than return to an Italian prison.  A representative for Knox, 26, confirmed the interview with La Repubblica and released a statement clarifying her remarks:

“[If convicted] legally I’ll be defined [as] a ‘fugitive,’ but I will continue to fight for my innocence,’’ Knox said in the statement, “I will not willingly submit myself to injustice.”

The current trial is Knox’s third for her alleged role in the murder of her British roommate Meredith Kercher in 2007 in Italy, where both were studying abroad.  Knox was convicted in 2009 after which she spent nearly 4 years in prison before she was acquitted by an Italian court on appeal in 2011.  In March of last year, the Italian Supreme Court thew out her acquittal and ordered a new trial saying that the appeals court didn’t answer certain questions.  Italy does not have double jeopardy protections.

The Italian reporter who conducted the interview told TODAY’s Keir Simmons that Knox’s comments may have been lighthearted, but ill-advised.  It’s not clear whether the U.S. will allow her extradition if she is convicted.

“I was already imprisoned in Italy as an innocent person, and I can’t reconcile the choice to go back…” Knox told Matt Lauer last year.

Knox reaffirmed her wish to meet with Kercher’s family, but the family has made it clear they still believe that Knox and her boyfriend were involved in their daughter’s death.  Knox told TODAY last year, “I really hope that they can come to understand that it’s so hard to be logical about this when you’ve lost someone…I really hope that with time, with things changing, with an opening, they’ll give my innocence a chance…I don’t want to be forever separated from them because at this point Meredith is a part of my life. I only knew her for a very short amount of time…I want to be able to share that with them.”

Rudy Guede, a drifter and known burglar, was convicted of murdering and sexually assaulting Kercher in 2008 and was sentenced to 30 years.  His sentence was subsequently reduced to 16 years and he is eligible for release this year.

Comments
  1. JanCorey says:

    I believe the case was a fraud from the git-go when she was charged, later convicted, then later overturned which is where the case needs to remain imo.

    Like

Join the Discussion

