George Zimmerman’s wife, Shellie, told the media that she’s going to have to “think about” whether their marriage will last.  Shellie Zimmerman made the comments to ABC in an interview the aired Thursday on GMA.  She pled guilty Wednesday to a misdemeanor count of perjury for lying during a bail hearing.  Her husband was acquitted on second-degree murder charges in July.  He wasn’t at the courtroom when she was sentenced to a year’s probation, 100 hours of community service, and the writing of an apology letter to the judge.

“She was scared,” her attorney, Kelly Sims, said after Wednesday’s hearing. “Her husband was locked up. She didn’t know what was going on. So, she stood by her man…”

Shellie Zimmerman told ABC “I always want my husband’s support.”  Asked if she and George Zimmerman are still together, Shellie Zimmerman said, “I’m not going to answer that.”  She added that she “wants to have children and stay married.”  “With George?” the interviewer asked.  “That’s something I’m going to have to think about,” Shellie Zimmerman replied.

In the interview, she reveals that she had left the home the night that Trayvon Martin and George Zimmerman got into an altercation because they had a fight, “I was staying at my father’s house,” she said. “We had gotten into an argument…”  Shellie Zimmerman says that while she believes her husband’s version of the events leading to the shooting,

“I can’t tell you how many nights I’ve gone or laid awake at night just thinking that I wish to God the circumstances had been different.”

She lamented to the reporter about hiding during the trial, “We have pretty much lived like gypsies for the past year and a half. We’ve lived in a 20-foot trailer in the woods, scared every night that someone would go and find us and that it would be horrific,” she said.  She explained the bail hearing in the interview, “I can rationalize a lot of reasons for why I was misleading, but the truth is that I knew…”

She said she plans to do her community service with a Christian ministry.

“I’ve made mistakes and I want to own them…” she said.

She also told ABC she is deeply sorry for the Martin family’s loss. “I can’t even begin to understand the grief a parent experiences when they lose a child,” she said.

Comments
  1. JanCoreyj says:

    Obesity might have ruined the Zimmerman marriage, but I don’t think the media could ruin anything even if it tried.

    Like

Join the Discussion

