Juan Martinez is actually being approached by people outside the courthouse in Arizona wanting to take pictures with him and get his autograph.  Really people?!  This is totally inappropriate behavior and not just for the prosecutor.  This is a trial, not a concert or a movie premiere or a sporting event.  There is a 30-year-old man who lost his life and there is a 32-year-old woman fighting for hers.  This is a very serious matter; this man is trying to put this woman to death.  Whether you believe in the death penalty or not, this is a serious event.  This is NOT entertainment.  People go to this trial every day just to get on TV.  They hope that some “news” organization will put them on, so they can make a fool of themselves.  It reminds me of when people used to throw fruit at people in the stockades or people used to go on picnics at battlefields or hangings.  There is no respect for life or death.  I don’t care if you like her or don’t like her, think she is guilty or not guilty, no one should ever make light of a person’s life.  People are mad at Jodi Arias because they believe she didn’t respect the sanctity of life by killing Travis Alexander and yet, these same people are getting their picture taken with the prosecutor, fawning on him like he is a celebrity, and getting their canes signed, totally disrespecting Jodi Arias’ life, trivializing this and belittling the whole importance of our justice system.  The hypocrisy is ridiculous.  As for Mr. Martinez, this is just another inappropriate act in a long line of them.  Clearly this man is egotistical.  He screams at witnesses even if they are his own.  He repeatedly asks a question until he gets the response he wants rather than the truth, even though the point he makes ends up being irrelevant to the case.  If he can’t get them to say what he wants, he just lies and mischaracterizes their testimony later.  He even refers to himself as “The Prosecutor”, so much so when he mistakenly says “me’ he will correct it with “The Prosecutor”.  It really doesn’t surprise me that he would do this right outside the courthouse.  Even though he knows that this is inappropriate as an officer of the court who has taken an oath to uphold our laws and represent our Constitution, his ego just can’t say no.  As the #1 prosecutor for Maricopa County, he knows that if a juror would see this disappointing and sickening display it would taint the jury.  He refused to accept Jodi Arias’ 2nd degree plea deal because he wanted to put her to death.  And now he is outside making a mockery of the whole ordeal.  I realize that a lot of people really don’t understand how inappropriate that this was, but to me that is also sad, this is not just a justice issue it is a moral issue.

It came to light, when Jean Casarez was testifying on March 28, 2013 during a brief hearing, that one of the people getting their picture taken with “The Prosecutor” was Katie Wick who appears almost nightly on Dr. Drew as one of his court watching “jurors”.  A little research shows that Ms. Wick earned a degree in Communications from Grand Canyon University.  She is very active in Conservative politics (including being the Arizona State Coordinator for Santorum’s Presidential Campaign).  She has an extensive television and media background.  She writes on the blog of KFYI and has appeared on the station as a political commentator.  She is clearly not just an average impartial person going to this trial to learn about the justice system.  The defense had suspicions that she was being paid by HLN and to my knowledge they could not substantiate that.  I have my own suspicions about the relationship.  Dr. Drew purports to randomly select average people with no agenda, so that his viewers can get an inside view of what a layperson is thinking about the current trial.  However, Ms. Wick’s background leads me to question why she would be chosen.  Politics are not that different from HLN.  It is all about what they choose to let you know and what they choose to hide from you.  If I was a regular viewer of Dr. Drew I might feel cheated about this.  Ever since HLN changed its format and became more tabloid-style it seems to have become more scripted.

Comments
  1. Patrick Dudley says:

    Juan may have won some little battles with his outrageous behavior but he has lost sight of the big picture. Instead of trying to make everyone out to be liars that do not agree with everything he says he should try to prove premeditated murder.
    My point: If Jodi is so smart (as Juan states) and planned the whole murder from the beginning with the gun, gas cans, alibi’s then answer me a few questions. If you are planning to kill someone then why would you use your credit card? Why would you stay at his house for two days and risk having one of his friends stop by or call or have him tweet, post on Facebook etc.
    If as they say, that it only takes a moment for premeditated murder then why is so much importance being put on the gas cans?
    So Juan is out to ruin not only Jodi’s life but anyone that stands in his way. Maybe he should spend more time proving his case.

    Like

  2. Melvis says:

    I pull no punches, I’m a Jodi supporter, so you may think my opinion here is biased. But I can say honestly, that even if I felt Jodi was guilty of premeditated murder, I would still be beyond disgusted at not only this prosecutor, but the JUDGE as well. After all, she has been the one who is allowing this circus to continue. Yes, Mr. Martinez is responsible for his behavior, and its reprehensible. But what incentive does he have to stop when you have a judge who rarely sustains an objection by the defense, who actually believes that this jury isn’t being tainted by the media, and now who acts as if none of Mr. Martinez actions has had bearing on the outcome of this trial. Any (redacted) with an ounce of intelligence knows that this jury has seen and been affected by his behavior, the media coverage of the trial, and this judges biased motions against the defenses objections.
    Disgusting

    Like

  3. Great post…. the only thing more obnoxious than Mr. Prosecutor’s boorish theatrics is that so many criminal defense attorneys are tripping over themselves to congratulate him and kiss his ass when they appear on news shows as commentators. Over the top, blood thirsty prosecutors will always be part of the system. What I wish however, is that the defense bar would put pride in their job ahead of cheap marketing. I would rather go broke and destitute than applaud Mr. Prosecutor’s behavior.

    Like

  4. kate shim says:

    if “The Prosecutor” would have taken the plea deal in the first place of 2nd degree murder the millions of dollars this trial is going to cost would be a moot point. People should remember this when they complain about the expense. His ego is what is costing the taxpayers of AZ.

    Like

  5. Michele Shirley says:

    I believe Juan Martinez was surprised by the requests for autographs and pictures and got caught being nice. Secondly, having read Nurm’s brief on Jodi taking a plea to 2nd deg murder, I agree with the states decision to reject her plea. The way the brief read, it seemed as though Jodi was still representing herself. She would not agree to anything less than 2nd deg. I was shocked at the wording that seemed to employ threats against Alexander’s family regarding the allegations being made. Thirdly, I completely agree with you. This woman is on trial for her life. Ms. Arias doesn’t seem to grasp the gravity of her situation. Making obnoxious, taunting tweets is immature and seriously bad judgement and being flippant on the stand is just stupid. Personally, I would like to slap the hell out of her attorneys for not reining her in. I was watching the live footage from Florida 24 years ago when Ted Bundy was being put to death. I was 17 years old and will never forget the sight of mothers with strollers cheering, holding sparklers and holding signs including one reading TUESDAY IS FRYDAY!! The crowd was even singing Kiss Him Goodbye. I’m not saying that Bundy wasn’t a monster, but I was shocked at the mob mentality you’ve described. Jodi is now 32 years old, if she’s not seeming to take this trial seriously, it’s hard for all of us to as well. On the HNL note, I have to agree with you. I love watching Nancy Grace, but it does detract from the seriousness of the situation when the opening tag includes, “Bombshell Tonight!”. I am not an attorney, and you are the exact kind of attorney that I would want representing me. Thank you for your reminder of the solemness of this trial.

    Like

    • Thank you for your compliment, but I am actually not an attorney (though people tell me I should become one). I am a concerned citizen and I have been interested in the justice system for many, many years. The understanding that I have acquired about the justice system and my interest are two of the reasons I started this blog. The main reason though, is the danger that the media poses to the system and our rights in general.

      Like

  6. stephen says:

    He is good I like his ego that’s what makes him a lead prosecutor. Just because someone screams in court does not make them an abusive person.when me an my family argue politics we yell scream at each other. We never hit lay a hand or abusive to each other its just heat of the moment. He probably really nice guy outside work. don’t judge people not even god judges people.

    Like

  7. barb says:

    wouldn’t you want juan fighting for your son, brother, family member? get a grip people. this is his job just like it is the defense job to defend a young girl who remember….stabbed a man 29 times, slit his thought 6 inches and shot him in this face, really? a bit of overkill. where is travis justice?

    Like

    • I would absolutely 100% not want Juan Martinez to prosecute any case if my loved one was a victim or defendant. He is not a good prosecutor. I would want a good one, one that knows what they are doing and doesn’t sign autographs and take pictures with “fans” capitalizing on my pain, one who doesn’t yell and scream at every witness, try to discredit witnesses not on their opinions, but on giving a book to someone, and certainly not a man whose ego I’m surprised fits in the courtroom. I definitely wouldn’t want anyone who devolves a capital case into a Snow White fiasco about battered woman syndrome not being real.
      I don’t know why people don’t get this. A prosecutor’s job is to do justice, not to win no matter what. What is justice? Justice is getting the right person, the right crime, and the right punishment. If you don’t do those things all you have done is tarnish the memory of the victim and mistreated the defendant. Do you think it is justice to put an innocent person in prison? How do you know whether someone is innocent or guilty unless you listen? Where is the innocent defendant’s justice when people scream all day and all night, from day 1, that they are guilty because the government said so? Everyone deserves rights, everyone deserves a defense, and everyone deserves justice. On the other hand, you also don’t want a prosecutor who doesn’t do their job right, who doesn’t try to get the person. I believe Juan Martinez falls into both categories. I don’t see why you would want a group like Juan Martinez and Det. Flores who lied at the death penalty hearing overseeing your case. Appeal, anyone?
      Again, people have made up their minds before the case has finished, that tells me a lot about what they believe not just about Jodi Arias, but about the issues at play in the case and the justice system itself. People don’t understand, just because the media says Travis Alexander is the victim doesn’t make it so, just because his family says it doesn’t make it so, just because his friends say it doesn’t make it so, and just because the prosecutor and police say it doesn’t make it so. You can say anything and that is why evidence is so important. You think Jodi Arias is a liar? Everyone can lie. Jodi Arias is innocent until proven guilty.
      She has argued self-defense, that means this isn’t a ‘who-dun-it’, it is a who is the victim? Having the finger pointed at you doesn’t make you guilty.

      Like

      • James Huff says:

        I agree entirely with your comments. All the time I think Martinez is actually auditioning for a movie role and a new career. He is prolonging the trial for more TV face time and it serves his purpose to provoke every witness into anger. A prolonged trial benefits the defense income and certainly ad revenue to HLN, In my opinion from the start Jodi was headed for life in prison and I have not changed. Possibly Martinez could have gotten his death conviction had he acted in cool professionalism, but he has watched too much Perry Mason and wants a copycat career.

        Like

      • Matthew T. Dalldorf says:

        Some good points here, Sadly, none of them will get through because juan marteniz (I don’t even bother capitalizing it’s name) supporters are immune to logic, They have to be, otherwise they’d go into convolutions and die when faced with it. Still, good points, but they won’t change anything.

        Like

    • I would not want juan fighting for me or anyone in my family…ever…there are intelligent, appropriate, prosecutors who know how to win a case without badgering, bullying, abusing the witness. Ignorant people resort to bullying…there is something wrong with their case if he has to behave like a two year old. Travis is in heaven…what justice are you speaking of? The kind of justice that murders people for murdering people??? Really? Travis was abusive with Jodi…mentally, emotionally and physically. He didn’t deserve to have his life taken…but he wasn’t innocent either. Not everyone is believing the malarkey the state is proposing. They have already been deceitful in twisting the facts. Juan has a Napoleon Complex and his ego has distorted any chance he has or had in getting a “death” conviction.

      Like

      • JanCorey says:

        Well said, he’s acting in a manner that shows to me he’s scared he’s not going to get the results he’ll be happy with.

        Like

    • Kat says:

      HELL NO, I would not want Martinez fighting for any member of my family. He’s a histrionic one-trick pony.

      Like

  8. truelib says:

    Thank you for being a true voice of reason! In these days of sensationalism there are not many who really care to write the truth.

    Like

  9. pascalswager233 says:

    I have never commented on this type of blog before, nor do I spend much time reading them. I feel that, (the ones I’ve come across, anyway), tend to spew as much misinformation as the media they criticize. I felt compelled to comment, here, though. Strongly. I consider myself a thoughtful person who takes any media outlet with a grain of salt. I watch my share of HLN, etc…but truly believed I was not influenced by their talking heads, at all. Until I started to read through your blogs. It truly opened my eyes. Not that they were influencing me by what they SAY, but I obviously have been by what they DON’T say. I cannot give you enough praise for taking the time to write about these issues. You do so very clearly and concisely. You could make the argument that you are biased based on what you choose as your subject manner, but that would be a weak argument, at best. Not sure that opening the eyes of one person will matter much to you, but rest assured I will share what I’ve learned, here, with as many people as I can. It’s a shame there aren’t more ‘real’ journalists, like you. Thank you, again.

    Like

    • Thank you for taking the time to send me your opinion. Every reader and every opinion is important to me. I try to be as unbiased as I can, but since we are human no one is 100% unbiased. I try to have an open mind and an open dialogue so that we can all learn from each other.

      Like

  10. Diane says:

    He has no emotional maturity, as is obvious in the manner of prosecuting he does with overtalking, and rudeness rather than allowing others to speak. What is even more frightening, is that he has twisted the truth, and changed facts many times in this trial, but when the defense objects the JUDGE overrules almost ever objection…. which makes me think she is very biased. This isn’t a trial, it’s a waste of taxpayers money!

    Like

    • i so agree Diane. i wouldn’t be surprised if he isn’t in a relationship because he is abusive. of course with all the juan groupies out there, he’ll probably get a date now. i hope the doctor sues juan for the accusations he made about him and jodi.

      Like

    • Robyn says:

      Really twist the truth, what truth? Jodi’s? Reading all your comment on here let me guess you’re buying Jodi’s artwork on ebay. Whats costing, us taxpayers money is Jodi’s defense team who keeps someone on the stand day after day to repeat what they were told by Jodi, who we all know tells nothing but the truth. Find this “blog” by mistake and have to laugh. The same two people responding back and forth. Enjoy your new artwork!

      Like

      • Robyn what I learned from your post is you are intolerant and you assume a lot. I have never bought a piece of artwork in my life let alone some drawing from Jodi Arias. She is a regular person, not a celebrity. I don’t have to agree with Jodi Arias to criticize Juan Martinez’s inappropriate actions. Even if you agree with someone you should not deny the truth. He is rude and unprofessional. Don’t think it started with this case, people say it is his style, no, it is who he is. If you think she is guilty then why are you supporting him breaking the rules? Risking an appeal on the prosecutor’s ego seems really stupid to me. This is one of the things I don’t get about a majority of the people who believe Jodi is guilty whether founded or unfounded. I’ve seen people say keep the bad juror because she just disagrees. What! You’ve got to be kidding me. It is never right to have a biased juror, but why would you risk the appeal? If you want to know whether she is really guilty she has to get a fair trial that is just logic. We don’t have rights for fun, we have them for a reason. Speaking of twisting the truth, why are people who think Jodi is guilty lying about Travis? It is obvious he was far from perfect, yet the media, the prosecution, and others lie about him. If you believe the right thing then a fact such as this should not disrupt that. The point of my blog is to have adult open conversations about the law and court cases. Partisanship and egotism doesn’t further anyone’s understanding and neither does lying or blind following. Because of those reasons you probably wouldn’t like it here. I’d like to give you some advice though. If you like your rights and your loved ones’ rights then you should stop complaining about Jodi’s defense. If it were you and I hope you never go through this, you wouldn’t like other people complaining that your life (this is a death penalty case) isn’t worth all those taxes because they just don’t believe you. What would be even worse is if you weren’t lying.

        Like

  11. I think juan has a napolean complex and is an abusive person himself. I found myself cringing when he was interrogating the witnesses.

    Like

    • JanCorey says:

      Clearly, at least to me, he has a personality disorder of magnitude proportions and needs continued treatment.

      Like

      • Kat says:

        All Juan Martinez did was bullying yelling and scared people to make them confused and seems that they’re were lying.
        He’s not a good person in my opinion,
        He wants everybody to agree with him no matter what he asks, Martinez is a hysterical, rude and selfish person, he is the one who needs to see an evaluation ASP..

        Like

        • JanCorey says:

          Ditto Kat, well said. Martinez should be charged with attempted murder since the evidence against him is the entire trial of Jodi Arias. Martinez needs the death penalty if anyone ever needed one imo.

          Like

    • Kat says:

      I think this article is great, You did a great job, happy to see people who can see the other side of the box and who is not bias . Thank you!

      I am a survivor of domestic violence, so i can tell from my own experience how abusers act in our society (work, church, school, friends…) please don’t think abusers are poor, uneducated, drug addicts, and etc… From my experience with DV Ive seeing all types of abusers, Police officers, Lawyers, judges, celebrities, politicians and the list go on……

      Most of Abusers shows double life usually they pretend to be this nice, charming, sweet person in front of other people,. They’re Masters and they know how to manipulate everyone around them.

      It was proven in court that Travis Alexander Was an abusive men, theres no doubt of that.
      Martinez did not prove was yelling this whole trial, bullying everyone from who tried testified something
      We seeing so many
      ALL ABUSERS say bad things about their Victims, they make the victim the bad one, telling everybody how terrible and crazy their ‘partner’ victim is. But in the reality The victim usually suffer in silent, they don’t tell their friends/family, they feel ashamed to tell others, they think somehow they had provoked the abuse, they love their abusers and they think someday the abuse will end it.
      Travis have said so many terrible things about his lover Jodi, but the Strange thing is we didn’t t have any evidence In this case that Jodi Arias was abusing Travis, all of what we have seen is Travis abusing her, all these names calling and saying how a terrible person she was it only shows how Much disrespectful he was towards woman, It only shows and prove to me how Coward, low class, immature, ignorant Travis was, it doesn’t mean he deserved to died like that, it was a tragic very sad, but I do believe she killed him because snapped, he never stopped abusing her. The evidences shows she tried to pleased him in every way and he kept lying, cheating, abusing her bit still Calling her to have sex.
      People need to read more about abuse, and learn more how abusers affect our mind and soul, they make us feel crazy and bad, they steal our own self, especially if you grew up in a dysfunctional home. And yes Jodi Arias Lied we all lie, also after killing Travis she was in shock and didn’t know what to do, what to say and who to trust. We all can see on the police videos her parents didn’t even tried to protect Jodi.
      Where’s the unconditional love we’re supposed to receive from our own family? We can clearly see how unsupported her family was with her.
      If Jodi’s Parents thought she had mental problems its not Jodi’s fault she didn’t get treatment, how can you except a mental person to seek help?
      In my opinion I think Jodi’s Parents were really wrong and from the videos I’ve seen they’re not a loving and caring parents.

      Sorry for my errors English is my second language.

      Like

  12. Excellent! Very well said…couldn’t agree more with you! here are my perceptions…i’m a beginner… 🙂 http://faithperceptions.wordpress.com

    Like

  13. JanCorey says:

    I would recommend you add the choice of PATHETIC-PROSECUTOR to your list of choices to give it a more accurate portrayal of the case thus far.

    Like

Join the Discussion

